Stop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private Message

Stop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private Message image chat undetected facebookStop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private MessageFacebook
Chat Undetected

Recently, Facebook implemented “read receipts” on their chat, group, and private message functions.

While these can be highly useful to let you know if someone got your message…

They can also be incredibly aggravating because they can reveal that you peeked at Facebook when you are trying to get work done and don’t actually have time to reply.

Here’s an example of a Facebook private message read-receipt:

Stop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private Message image facebook chat undetected 1Stop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private Message

That little “Seen Thu 6:59 pm” lets me know that my friend saw what I had typed even though she did not reply back.

Fortunately, as long as you are surfing Facebook from a non-tablet non-phone device, you can easily use a browser add-on to “go incognito” and not have these read receipts show up for your friends (while you will likely still see theirs unless they are doing the same thing).

Hide Facebook Seen Read Receipts For Chat and Private Messages

With the help of a simple browser add-on, for Chrome/Firefox/IE, you can keep your Facebook surfing a secret and reply on your own time without having someone feel like you are ignoring them.

Stop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private Message image facebook chat undetected 2 550x289Stop Facebook From Telling If You Read A Chat or Private Message

In this example, I was testing it against 2 different browsers, with my own and a friends account, to ensure it was working correctly. You can see that it suppressed (hid) the “Seen on” stamp in both the private message and chat window.

I did not test it in groups but because they use exactly the same mechanism, from the browser, they should be hidden as well.

The Firefox add-on installs like you would expect it to… however, the Chrome extension uses an intermediary .exe file for Windows users to get around Chromes new rules about third party extensions. The .exe is safe and tested by a number of teams so you can rest easy.

You can enable this add-on/extension when you want it to hide the stamps or disable it when you want them to work right. Super simple. Just remember though that if you open the message on your phone it’s going to show the timestamp.

This puts the power to control your visibility back in YOUR hands – rather than in Facebooks!

Keep on rockin’ social media!

PS: And now creepy stalker types can’t see in chat that you saw your message …. or your mother can’t be confused about you “seeing” her message just because you left Facebook open all night even after you went to bed. Lots of headaches can be prevented!

More Social articles from Business 2 Community:

Loading...
See all articles from Business 2 Community

Friend's Activity