A simple guide to opting out of Google’s controversial new ads

Google’s latest Terms of Service update allows the company to use your personal information from Google+, including your name and photograph, in targeted advertising that will appear while your connections are browsing the web. Thankfully, Google announced the upcoming changes well in advance, leaving users plenty of time to opt out of Shared Endorsements if they so choose before the ads launch next month.

In order to withdraw from Shared Endorsements, simply log in to your Google account (if you aren’t already logged in), click this link, which leads to the Shared Endorsement settings, scroll to the bottom of the page, and uncheck the box next to this statement: “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.” The click Save.

Now your face will never pop up alongside your favorite brand of cereal or that movie you saw last week. Congratulations.


More from BGR: iOS 7 takes a beating in extensive user experience review

This article was originally published on BGR.com

Loading...

Friend's Activity