• FirefoxInstall the new Firefox »
    Search Engine Optimization


    Found a car on craigslist but going to deal with by eBay does this sound like a scam?

    Buying a truck, found on craigslist for a low price this is the message:Hello, Thanks for being interested in buying my 2005 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 SR5 TRD Double Cab . It is in a good condition, no scratches, no damages, never been implicated in any accidents, no problems. At the engine, runs very well. It has an 6 CYLINDERS, 77,500 miles, clean Title, a perfect truck.I am selling because I got promoted and moved to Bratislava. I'm in Bratislava and the truck is located in Bangor, ME. It's prepared for shipping and the delivery costs are included in this price. The price is not negotiable $8,300.00 and we will use only eBay to complete the sale. If you are ready to buy the vehicle, please let me know. P.S. For pictures please use this link : http://img856.imageshack.us/slideshow/webplayer.php?id=51934840.jpg
    a few seconds ago 5 Answers

    Best Answer

    Chosen by Asker
    100% scam. There is no car for sale. There are stolen pictures of someone else's car. There is only a scammer trying to steal your hard-earned money. The next email will be from another of the scammer's fake names and free email addresses pretending to be the "eBay" and will demand you pay for shipping fees, in cash, and only by Western Union or moneygram. Or the scammer will want you to "prove" you have the funds by sending cash to a friend and sending him the MTCN#. The scammer then uses the MTCN# to pick up your cash and disappear. Western Union and moneygram do not verify anything on the form the sender fills out, not the name, not the street address, not the country, not even the gender of the receiver, it all means absolutely nothing. The clerk will not bother to check ID and will simply hand off your cash to whomever walks in the door with the MTCN# and question/answer. Neither company will tell the sender who picked up the cash, at what store location or even in what country your money walked out the door. Neither company has any kind of refund policy, money sent is money gone forever Now that you have responded to a scammer, you are on his 'potential sucker' list, he will try again to separate you from your cash. He will send you more emails from his other free email addresses using another of his fake names with all kinds of stories of great jobs, lottery winnings, millions in the bank and desperate, lonely, sexy singles. He will sell your email address to all his scamming buddies who will also send you dozens of fake emails all with the exact same goal, you sending them your cash via Western Union or moneygram. You could post up the email address and the emails themselves that the scammer is using, it will help make your post more googlable for other suspicious potential victims to find when looking for information. Do you know how to check the header of a received email? If not, you could google for information. Being able to read the header to determine the geographic location an email originated from will help you weed out the most obvious scams and scammers. Then delete and block that scammer. Don't bother to tell him that you know he is a scammer, it isn't worth your effort. He has one job in life, convincing victims to send him their hard-earned cash. Whenever suspicious or just plain curious, google everything, website addresses, names used, companies mentioned, phone numbers given, all email addresses, even partial sentences from the emails as you might be unpleasantly surprised at what you find already posted online. You can also post/ask here and every scam-warner-anti-fraud-busting site you can find before taking a chance and losing money to a scammer. If you google "fake Ebay email", "Craigslist car seller scam", "fake truck sale scam Western Union", "fake car shipping company scam" or something similar you will find hundreds of posts from victims and near-victims of this type of scam.
    a few seconds ago

    Other Answers

    • "I'm in Bratislava and the truck is located in Bangor, ME." There, it is a scam.

      by Erik - 16 hours ago

    • SCAM...forget about this deal.

      by ? - 16 hours ago

    • IF you have not seen the vehicle before purchasing it, it is a scam ! i have almost ran into this scam before. do not buy if you cant see it and if they say delivery is included its a scam.

      by Chris - 16 hours ago

    • SCAM Here is Craiglist's warning about this exact scam http://houston.craigslist.org/i/autos?&category=cta/ Here is Ebay's warning http://pages.motors.ebay.com/buy/security/index.html Craigslist is ONLY for face to face CASH transactions or you are always being scammed. And NEVER buy a car unless you meet the seller and check that the name on his license matches the name on the title -- Craigslist is loved by thieves who steal a car, quickly list it for sale at a cheap price, then sell you the stolen vehicle Ebay protection ONLY applies to cars that are listed for auction ON EBAY, you bid ON EBAY, you win the auction ON EBAY and you pay ON EBAY with your linked Paypal account. It does not deal with Craigslist or any other site In Maine you cannot buy a car unless you and the seller meet in person as you are both required to sign a Bill of Sale at the same time for the ownership to be transferred to you. The car cannot leave the state until you both have met and signed the bill of sale so he cannot ship the car to you and no shipping company would ship the car without a copy of the Bill of Sale. Otherwise that car does not belong to you - you are sending money but the car still belongs to the seller and he doesn't have to give it to you as there is no signed Bill of Sale If the car were in Maine it would be listed on Craigslist in Maine, not your city. You are not allowed to list anything on Craiglist unless the item is physically in that location. So it's against Craigslist's rules for him to list a car in your city if the car isn't physically in your city Report this ASAP to Craigslist and never buy any car until you have seen it AND verified in person that the seller's ID is the same name as on the title

      by Kittysue - 16 hours ago

    Recommended Articles

    Yahoo Small Business Services