Question
Do you think this is an apartment rental scam?
There is an apartment on craigslist.org for rent. The buyer says he moved to west africa and his wife and him plan to return to atlanta, so they don't want to sell it. After speaking through email he sends me this... What do you think? This is to inform you that we are happy to know that you are very interested in renting our apartment and that you are a responsible person,that indeed is good to hear.I told my wife about you and she is very excited and keen to hear from you.I made her know that you are a very responsible person and she is completely disposed to giving the apartment out to you. I need you to understand before hand that my superintendent who is supposed to show you the apartment is away to Spain on vacation and will not be back for some time.We would like to send the keys to the apartment and some documents to you via FED EX express delivery,so that you can go and inspect the apartment.As soon as the keys and documents are shipped to you we will give you the FED EX tracking code so that you can monitor the movement of the package online and be able to sign for it when it arrive. The apartment had just been renovated with security access system installed before we left the state.We are giving you this based on trust and we hope that you will not let us down.Obviously you will love the apartment as it is cozy and well taken care of.All utilities have been taken care of in the rent and the water,electricity,heating and internet systems are in good working condition so you do not need to spend any extra money to move in.The lease period will completely depend on you it will either be a month to month or a year to year arrangement.There is a parking facility in the building.Some of the furnitures hav e been moved into the store room under lock and key, if you need to make use of the furnitures feel free to replace them into the living room and make use of it.We would probably use my Chase account in New York to facilitate the rental transaction. The reason for shipping the keys to you is to ensure that you have a clear and unbiased view of the apartment,make a good decision before making any serious commitment,since you will be going to the apartment unaccompanied i will also send you a signed letter of authority authorizing you to go into the apartment for viewing in my absence,this is to avoid any form of embarrassment when you go into the apartment from any body..You will need to make Payment for the shipment of the Keys and document to you,so do get back to me so that we can make arrangement on the payment procedure and when to make the shipment.More so, after viewing the apartment, if you do not like it, we will be responsible for shipping the keys back to us.Listed below are the content of the package: 1)Entrance Key card and the rooms Keys. 2)Certificate of occupancy. 3)The house documentary file. 4)Rental contract form. 5)A letter of authority authorizing you to go in and view the apartment in my absence. 6)Rent application form. 7)The apartment security access code. 8)Deed/proof of ownership. Feel free to give me a call on XXX or +XXXX0 . if you need more clarification.The best time to contact me is in the morning American time. Regards Luarence.
7 months ago - 4 answers
Best Answer
Chosen by Asker
Three things should alert you that this is a scam: 1) The supposed landlord is in West Africa (google Nigerian scams) 2) They are asking you to make payment for the keys. That is of course preposterous, have you ever had to pay to get keys to view an apartment? 3) (and this is the clincher, for me) It's listed on craigslist, the biggest source of fraud on the internet.
by quizzard123
7 months ago
Asker's Rating: ![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
Other Answers
This is a scam. "You will need to make Payment for the shipment of the Keys and document to you"...... Don't do it! If it were legit, they would have a property manager or someone to show it and WOULD NOT require you to pay for the keys to view it. No no no no no. I implore you, stop now and thank me later :) You can always, for proof, reply and ask how to pay them. I bet they want a wire transfer of first months payment that they would "refund" if you don't like it. Which they won't.
by bcyouletme- 7 months ago
You are right, it sounds like a scam. I wonder if you could actually go see the place. Does it actually exist? Where is the Manager? Is there a mailbox with their name on it? Are they listed in the local Phone book (or reverse directory)? I think I would be willing to invest a few bucks, and have a Realtor or management company check it out.
by roscoedeadbeat- 7 months ago
This is a well known rental scam that has been going around craigslist for quite some time now. DO NOT FALL FOR IT.
by goldshire1- 7 months ago



